Mayor of Moscow
Born in 1958.
In 1980 graduated from the Kostroma Technology Institute.
In 1989 graduated from the Russian Law Correspondence Institute, PhD (Law).
In 1980 worked as a fitter and later a headman at the Chelyabinsk Pipe Plant.
1982 – Appointed Head of the Administration Department of the Leninsky District Komsomol Committee of Chelyabinsk.
1984-1990 – Held party and parliamentary jobs in the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area of the Tyumen Region.
1991 – Appointed Administration Head of the city of Kogalym.
1993 – First Deputy Head of the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area Administration.
1994 – Chairman of the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area's legislature, member of the Federation Council of Russia's Federal Assembly (parliament), Chairman of the Federation Council committee on constitutional law and judicial issues.
2000 – First Deputy Plenipotentiary Envoy of the Russian President in the Urals Federal District.
2001-2005 – Governor of the Tyumen Region.
In November 2005 – Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office.
2008 – Deputy Prime Minister and Chief of the Government Staff.
21 October 2010 appointed Moscow Mayor for a five year term by the Moscow City Duma upon the recommendation of President Dmitry Medvedev.
Elected Mayor of Moscow on 8 September, 2013 for a term of five years. Assumed the office of Moscow Mayor on 12 September, 2013.